10+ Christian Book Awards to Enter Your Work

Not only is entering a book into a contest a great way to gain recognition, it is also a huge advertising benefit. In addition to that, it doesn’t hurt to have an award sticker on your book to gain more visibility. 
Judith Desjardins, a 16-time book award winner, said in Publisher’s Weekly, “Book awards are great for marketing buzz on the awards websites and through the press releases they put out about the winners, all of which is additional publicity for you,” Desjardins said. “And award stickers definitely influence the consumer at the point-of-sale.” Read the article HERE.
With this in mind, I knew there had to be Christian book awards for our niche. Below, please find several Christian & inspirational book award options. Read the guidelines carefully at each site. If this is a marketing strategy you want to endeavor in, add it to your marketing plan and get planning!

Christian Indie Awards 

The Christian Indie Awards honor outstanding Christian books by independent authors and small publishers and is hosted by the Christian Small Publishers Association (CSPA). There are 18 categories this year. 

Submissions are OPEN NOW until Nov. 15, 2018! 

ECPA – Evangelical Christian Publishers Association

Recognizes the highest quality in Christian books and Bibles and is among the oldest and most prestigious awards program in the religious publishing industry. Categories for award include: Bibles, Bible Reference Works, Bible Study, Ministry Resources, Biography & Memoir, Christian living, Faith & Culture, Devotion & Gift, Children, Young’ People’s Literature, New Author.

2019 Call for Submissions: September 1 – 30, 2019

Currently accepting applications for judges!

Carol Awards

American Christian Fiction Writers Association (ACFW) recognition for the best Christian fiction from the previous year. There are 11 categories for fiction books only. 

2018 has already closed & winners announced on June 30. For 2019, contest usually opens in January and closes in March. 



Illumination Book Awards

With the motto, “Shining a Light on Exemplary Christian Books, ”the Illumination Book Awards are designed to honor the year’s best new titles written and published with a Christian worldview. There are 19 categories and an additional 5 for medals.

Currently accepting nominations until December 15, 2018.



The Inspy Awards – The Bloggers Award for Excellence in Faith-Driven Literature

“Recognizing the need for a new kind of book award, the INSPYs were created by bloggers to discover and highlight the very best in literature that grapples with expressions of the Christian faith. ” There are 7 fiction categories.

Submissions re-open in December 2018 for next year.


CPA Book Awards – Catholic Press Association

The CPA Book Awards allows publishers, authors, and book editors to present their work. The awards program helps promote outstanding Catholic material to the general public. CPA members and non-members alike may participate.

Currently closed to submissions. Reopens in January 2019.


The Christy Awards 

A premiere award program for recognizing excellence in Christian fiction. There are 9 fiction categories, and 3 finalists are chosen in each category.

Currently closed to submissions. Submissions are accepted in March, 2019.



Christianity Today Book Award 

Christianity Today honors outstanding books of special interest to the Christian community. In the January/February 2019 issue, CT will feature the best books published between November 1, 2017 and October 31, 2018, divided into categories according to subject and genre. There are 14 categories.

Nominations for 2019 are open NOW until August 6, 2018!

Image result for christianity today book awards


Book Awards with Christian categories:

National Indie Excellence Awards

Recognizing self & independent publishing excellence. Christian categories include Children’s Inspirational, Children’s Religion, Religious Fiction & Non-fiction.

Submissions open August 1, 2018 and ends on March 31, 2019.

National Indie Excellence® Awards

Next Generation Indie Book Awards 

Presented by Independent Book Publishing Professionals Group. Over 70 categories including Christian Fiction, Christian Non-Fiction, Inspirational Fiction & Non-fiction, Religious Fiction.

Accepting NOW! Entries due by February 15, 2019.

International Book Awards 

“The 10th Annual International Book Awards (IBA 2019) are specifically designed to be a promotional vehicle for authors and publishers to launch their careers, open global markets and compete with talented authors and publishers throughout the world.” Christian categories include Religious Fiction, Children’s Religious, Religion – General,  Christian Inspirational, Christianity.

$59 per title. Early bird special due June 30 ($20 off)!

The Foreward Indies Book Award

“The Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards recognize the best independently published books. Along with two cash prizes, the Foreword INDIES are a way for us to highlight deserving books in over 60 categories to our audience of librarians, booksellers, industry professionals, and book lovers.” Christian categories include Religious and Religion Non-fiction. 

Submissions accepted until September 30, 2018. 

Foreword INDIES Book Awards